I have a confession.  I have never read most of the books on my bookshelves.  Some people might say this makes me a poser, but the truth is I just don’t have room for books I’ve already read.  Out they go, off to be sold or donated so that I can collect more books to pick up when it comes time to read another.  There was a time when I obsessively collected books for the sake of being surrounded by them but now I prefer to let them go, to be enjoyed (or not) by someone else.  Perhaps it’s the librarian in me.

The exception to this rule, of course, is my cookbook and cooking magazine collection.  But these reveal a separate personality trait.  While I have read them all nearly cover to cover, I have tested very few of the recipes.  Perhaps it was the recent movie Julie & Julia or my recent discovery (and might I say infatuation) with the food blog Smitten Kitchen (OMG, love her), but I have decided to turn a new leaf and start cooking from my small but well-read library.  I’ve been inspired.

It started with the recipe in my last post which arrived in the latest issue of Bon Appetit.  Contrary to typical fashion, I tried some of the recipes rather than just drooling over them.  Some successes, some failures, but overall a feeling of satisfaction for having given it a shot.  I can’t say I will forgo recipes discovered on the web entirely (did I mention how much I love Smitten Kitchen?) but I do hereby commit to visiting my bookshelf more regularly when looking to try something new.

 

