So I discovered another blog that I love (what happened to using my cookbooks for a while?).  The Transplanted Baker is a treasure trove of Scandinavian delights.  The best part is, it’s written in English!

Of course, I started with a cookie recipe (though I have to admit, I am drawn to the Geitost Bling after trying this brown Norwegian cheese for the first time a few years ago).  This Maple-Pecan Shortbread gave me the perfect reason to pull out the miniature cookie cutters that Rob brought home from a recent tag sale excursion.  After further reading, I discovered that these are not actually Norwegian, but they certainly were delicious!

According to the Spar website (read with the assistance of Microsoft Translator), the seven traditional cookies of Christmas in Norway are smultringer, sandkaker, sirupssnipper, berlinerkranser, goro, krumkaker and fattigmann.  Now I know which recipes to look for next year!

